The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society - Fighting Blood Cancers
1 2 3 29 Previous Next 422 Replies Latest reply: Jul 28, 2013 12:33 PM by mcee RSS

Hi- New to the group

jgold Registered Users
Currently Being Moderated

Hi I am Jim and I have None-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, boy way to start a new journey in life, but I am upbeat and determined to make the best of the situation and go on living.

Now this might be interesting to some, but while I am a patient and going through R-CHOP, I am also a Physician, so now I know what it is like on the other side of the fence.

With that said and done, I finished my first session last week, with wonder-drug R and yes I did have a small initial reaction to it.  I got the shakes and shivers for only a few minutes (controlled with Demerol, fun stuff).  Rest ot the session went by well, including the CHOP portion.

Initial impressions.. WOW mind you I am stage IVB with Indolent B-cell Follicular that seems to have radicalized and spread all over my body.  Within 8 hours of R infusion tumors reduced to half their size, and while taste seems to have been affected I still felt quite well.  Stayed at MD Anderson for two days, Oncologist wanted to observe reaction and monitor Potassium levels.

Today marks a week since first treatment blood works looks good and clinical team has been taken back.

by the tumor lysis.  My taste is still somewhat blah but improving and still have occasional nausea, I have lost close to 10 lbs of tumor weight my neck lost a thirds of it's size and my wife tells me I look younger and fit (go figure and she is jealous).

Honestly food is no longer a turn on, but I am forcing myself to eat a normal diet and maintain normal activity,

Next treatment will be in about 1.5 weeks and I am looking forward to it.  BTW still waiting for hair loss (I have always wondered how I would look bald and hairless [Yul Brainer move over], but this should be soon).