The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society - Fighting Blood Cancers
12 Replies Latest reply: Jun 28, 2012 4:31 PM by katiekatjacob RSS

transplant questions

cori Registered Users
Currently Being Moderated

I'm just getting started on the research, we haven't had our transplant consultation yet but I have a couple of questions.

My boyfriend, Fran, had AML in 2009 and has been in remission since then. He was treated with one round of induction and 3 rounds of consolidation.  He has relapsed, we got the diagnosis a few days ago.  During the initial consultation with the oncology team, treatment was discussed and it *sounds* like Fran will have a round of induction and then have a bone marrow transplant.  Could it be that rounds of consolidation won't be done?  I understand that the doctor can answer that one best but I just wanted to know if others had experienced it this way.

In reading up on others' transplant experiences it seemed that a patient goes straight from induction to transplant, BUT they have a donor lined up.  The team made it sound like Fran would have induction, then transplant, but we don't have a donor lined up yet.  From last time, we know that one sister is not a match but he has other siblings that still can be typed.  It's fine if they aren't a match, it would just go to the next level, looking for a match in the donor banks.  But surely this takes time, I guess I don't understand what Fran will do while they're looking for a match.  Induction has already been scheduled, we go in this coming Thursday.