The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society - Fighting Blood Cancers
25 Replies Latest reply: Feb 14, 2011 9:41 PM by JustJoan19 RSS

new to these discussion boards...

kimiline Registered Users
Currently Being Moderated

Hi, okay, this is my first time on a discussion board so I hope I can post and find it again later!  With that said...

it's also my first time talking to anyone else diagnosed with HCL.  I will start by introducing myself; my name is Kim and I was diagnosed in July 2009 with HCL, after 3 years of mis-diagnosing low platelets that began during my 2nd trimester of pregnancy (my first).  Yes, my spleen was massive and my platelets were about 40k when I started 2-cda in late August.  7 days, continuous home infusion.  I got neutropenic fever and spent the next 7 days in the hospital (also had a reaction to the picc bandage during this time causing some sort of chemical burn).  Got over that, my spleen went right down and as of last CBC, my platelets were up to 159k and everything else was going up too.  Now I'm just tired a lot (heard this was common as a long term recovery effect), and nervous for my upcoming bone marrow biopsy on Dec. 17th.  Also a bit lonely; feels like now that I'm "back to normal" everyone thinks the book should be closed, end of story.  Going through this has changed me, I'm not always sure what to do with myself now, I feel like I should be doing more, oh, and why should I be struggling with this after the fact, when so many others that I know have gone through so much worse.  I'm thinking exercise will help lift my mood, and finally reaching out to folks who have been there. 

One thing I know, it's definitely nice not to have big ugly bruises anymore!

• Re: new to these discussion boards...
    Wobbles Registered Users

Welcome aboard Kim!

I am sorry to hear that this dreadful disease afflicts you, but you’ve come to a good spot for support and for comparing notes.  Congrats on shrinking spleen and growing platelet numbers.