The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society - Fighting Blood Cancers
25 Replies Latest reply: Oct 10, 2009 12:22 PM by jill RSS

Flu shots and Now What?

azteri Registered Users
Currently Being Moderated

I'm wondering about getting a flu shot-have any of you gotten one? What does your onc. say? I asked at the office but she wasn't in that day so I have to wait until Tuesday. They're free at work on Wednesday. I'm a teacher and exposed to EVERYTHING, including H1N1.

Now, for the NOW WHAT? I was having an unusual pain in my side last week-it wasn't severe and I didn't always notice it, but with cancer, the sniffles can be an emergency so I called my PCP who scheduled a abdominal CT scan for the next day. I figured it would be nothing.That day, and since, I've had no pain, but the report said I have two masses in there so I scheduled the transvaginal ultrasound they wanted. I have an apt. with the PCP on Wednesday. They also want me to see my gynocologist. I was just there in July for the annual fun.

So, I'm concerned. I had uterine cancer that was discovered after my hysterectomy in 2003, which was for a precancerous condition, but a few small spots of cancer were discovered in the uterus but were completely contained and I had no treatment. I elected to keep my ovaries since hormones giveme blood clots. I've had ovaraian cysts off and on that caused a little pain, but this was different. So,of course, I'm concerned. I've things by folks here who have more than one kind of cancer. Just the kind of thing I would come up with.

So, anyway, live goes on, which is more than some people can say.

• Re: Flu shots and Now What?
    Susan61 Registered Users