Team In Training
7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 14, 2008 1:11 PM by kimpossible RSS

First Timer for June 1, 2008 Tahoe Century Bike Ride

Registered Users
Currently Being Moderated

First Timer for June 1, 2008 Tahoe Century Bike Ride.

Anyone have any advice and what to expect.

If anyonme wants to support me with any donation of any size

all is appreicated . Thanks Antoinette

http://www.active.com/donate/tntliny/tntlinyAPalmeri1

• Re: First Timer for June 1, 2008 Tahoe Century Bike Ride
    Paul TNT Coach

Hello Antoinette!

I'm a TNT cycling coach in Milwaukee.  Welcome to the Team! 

Good to get an early start on your fundraising, as you are doing.  You may find this forum is less used than we'd like.  But feel free to post questions and I (and others) will try to check in periodically to give you our 2 cents worth.

If you are new to cycling and don't have any gear (helmet - required; cycling shorts, tights and other closing - highly recommended), now is a good time to look for sale items on the internet and at your local bike shop.

All the best,

Paul Lucey

Registered Users

Thank you Paul for your response.

Right now I am shopping for a bike and am

just about ready to buy a Specialized Dolce Elite

for the ride.  I hope I can get use to the clips and shoes.

The shop I am going to fits you and the process takes

about 3 hours.  I am looking forward to all the challenges.

Antoinette

Paul TNT Coach

Good choice of bike.  Some people report that the Dolce Elite front derailleur will require careful adjusment to ensure smooth shifting.  All new bikes should be serviced after about  50 miles of riding because the new cables stretch a little bit and need to be tightened.

Sounds like the right kind of bike shop, too.  Spending the time and effort to get a good bike fitting is an excellent idea.