The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society - Fighting Blood Cancers
26 Replies Latest reply: Mar 28, 2012 10:42 AM by goodchatt RSS

SLL/CLL question

Chris67 Registered Users
Currently Being Moderated

I'm new to discussion boards and not sure how to put myself out here.  I did try to respond to a discussion but maybe I need to start a new one?.  I am a 44 year old wife and mother of two.  I had a routine physical with bloodwork in June 2011...all normal results.  I also had a tetanus shot.  My arm was a little more sore than usual after a tetanus shot.  But after a few days the pain went away.  A week and half later,  I found a painless,movable lump on my upper arm near my armpit, but more on my bicep. Went to the doc and he said wait two weeks to see if it goes away, it didn't so he recommended having it removed.  Waited a month for a consult and another month for removal, I was into September.  I just had a local surgeon do it because we all thought it would be nothing.  Biopsy results came back as a lymph node suspicious for lymphoma and were sent on to Pittsburgh for consult.  Those results came back as chronic lymphocytic lymphoma which translates to SLL/CLL. I picked a hematology oncologist at Hillman Cancer Center in Pittsburgh for my care.  Had Bmbx, a full CT series and blood work in October 2011.  My CT scan showed no enlarged nodes, blood work was normal, and I have a 5% marrow involvement. I felt like I was dropped into the middle of the ocean with no idea which direction I should swim.  I am a 44 year old wife and mother of 2.  When I met doctor a week after my testing he said I may never need treatment.  I follow up with him on Jan 23, 2012 and that I need another CT series at 6 months, which will be March 2012.  At my first visit with doc in October 2011, the scope of what it could have been was so large that I couldn't even go in there with good solid questions.  Since then, I have been working at getting a list of questions together for my Jan 23 appointment