The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society - Fighting Blood Cancers
7 Replies Latest reply: Mar 29, 2012 4:28 PM by Raft RSS

my husband

Eileen611 Registered Users
Currently Being Moderated

Hello everyone!  I am new to these pages but so happy to have found this board!  My husband was diagnosed with mantle cell lymphoma in november.  Because they found a minute trace in his bone marrow they have put him at Stage 4 which literally scared me to death until our doctor at Sloan-Kettering told us how lymphoma is staged for treatment.  Right now, per the doctor, we are doing the "watch and wait" thing, or as I call it, watch and worry.  Next appointment at Sloan is April 10 for a PET and CAT scan.  I am already freaking out....almost like I have no control over the fear.  The doctor said he could stay at this stage for years but that when it does require treatment, he will have to have a stem cell transplant.... or as doctor says...go straight for the big guns.  Anyway, I am so sorry for rambling.  I know mantle cell lymphoma is rare and incurable.....the statistics terrify me.  Also have noticed the last few weeks that my husband is very tired.....not sure if this is depression or the lymphoma started to rear it's ugly head even more.  Has this happened to anyone else....depression, fatigue, etc?    Thanks for listening. 

• Re: my husband
    pollymarie Registered Users

I am so sorry for you and your husband. Adults are different then children but my daughter has ALCL a type of lymphoma and she got very tired and depressed. I also am new to this site but it has helped me already. I wish you and your husband all the best.

Thank you, Polly....my thoughts and prayers are with you and your daughter too.  I have the feeling that this site is going to be a blessing, just being able to connect with other people in the same circumstances, someone who understands. 

pollymarie Registered Users