The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society - Fighting Blood Cancers
68 Replies Latest reply: Mar 19, 2012 1:46 PM by Tex RSS

Chemo during transplant...

Laila98 Registered Users
Currently Being Moderated

Hi first off thanks for taking a look at this... I'm Laila, I'm a freshman in h/s and about to start my bone marrow allo-transplant (I think that's what they keep calling it). This might sound really really stupid but I can't find anything about hair loss with transplant, it always just talks about people going through chemotherapy for weeks and stuff... Did ya'll lose all of your hair with the transplant? Do I lose my eyebrows and stuff too? I'm sorry it might seem like a stupid thing to ask or even worry about but I can't help but wonder what's right around the corner for me... any help would be appreciated greatly! Thank you!

• Re: Chemo during transplant...
    Susan61 Registered Users

Hi Laila:  I did not get a transplant, and most of us are all on the TKI drugs instead of a transplant.  We do have some, and I am sure they will tell you what they experienced.

I am sure Trey will get on here to give you some websites or information to check out.

I will check later to see what answers you get.

Do not forget that their are never any stupid questions on here at anytime.  We are all filled with questions, and seeking answers on everything. Thats why we are all here to help each other.

Have they found a match for you yet that they feel would be a good one?

CherylLynn Registered Users

Laila...

I had a stem cell transplant (sct) last Jan 2011...I did lose all of my hair including all my body hair, but by some miraculous chance I did not lose my eyebrows or eyelashes...they thinned a bit but did not totally fall out...

Everyone is different but I think with full chemo and radiation you are bound to lose most if not all of your hair...

Hope this answers your question...if you have any more - please feel free to post them - we are all here to help

Cheryl